查看我们的音频中心!

我们的故事

罗恩-迈尔斯
我们的故事

发明家罗恩-迈尔斯

宾汉姆顿大学教授罗恩-迈尔斯(Ron Miles)对动物的听觉进化方式非常着迷,他花了数年时间研究自然界最好的听觉系统是如何进化出听觉的。一直以来,我们都是根据人类的听觉原理来设计麦克风。然而,当我们试图将麦克风微型化到极小的外形尺寸(例如我们消费设备中的麦克风)时,为什么不看看大自然中的小型听觉系统是如何工作的呢?尤其是昆虫,它们体型非常小,却能进化得非常准确地感知声音的来源。它们使用的原理与人耳不同。迈尔斯教授正是基于这一理念,开始着手制造一种既小巧又灵敏的定向麦克风,并最终对世界上最微小的生物之一--蜘蛛进行了研究。

作为宾汉姆顿大学的教授,罗恩-迈尔斯被介绍给康奈尔大学的研究员罗恩-霍伊教授。霍伊教授发现,尽管蜘蛛没有传统意义上的耳朵,但它们能够通过腿上的毛发甚至蜘蛛网来感知声音。迈尔斯教授和博士生周健一起研究了蜘蛛丝的声学特性。结果发现,这些 "传感器 "并不像大得多的人耳那样对声压做出反应,而是直接对周围空气的运动和流动做出反应。正是这一概念启发罗恩和周健设计出性能惊人的指向性麦克风。

梵语诞生

Soundskrit 是在创业孵化器 TandemLaunch 成立的,它将对音频和新技术的热爱结合在一起。最初的三位创始人与宾汉姆顿大学的罗恩-迈尔斯(Ron Miles)教授建立了联系,并了解到 MEMS 麦克风的新视角,该视角建立在 30 多年的研究基础之上。与其使用非指向性麦克风阵列来尝试获得指向性,为什么不将指向性植入硬件本身呢?这些新型 MEMS 麦克风的灵感来源于蜘蛛,它利用毛发和蛛网来获取听觉信息。事实上,第一个麦克风原型实际上是用蜘蛛网作为传感膜片!

我们的技术和公司已经远远超越了早期的水平,尽管我们仍然热爱从大自然中汲取灵感。如今,Soundskrit 已在不牺牲任何功能的前提下,将第一款原型产品大幅微型化,打造出市场上性能最高的 MEMS 指向性麦克风。在Soundskrit麦克风缩小的同时,我们的团队也在不断壮大,在加拿大和美国都设有办事处,拥有来自不同背景的众多团队成员。我们的团队孜孜不倦地努力创造业内最好的 MEMS 麦克风,改变我们日常设备的音频采集方式。我们非常高兴能与您分享我们的进步。

Check out our Audio Hub!

Our story

Ron Miles
Our Story

Ron Miles the Inventor

Fascinated by the way that animals have evolved to hear sound, Ron Miles, a professor at the University of Binghamton, spent years studying how nature’s best auditory systems have evolved to hear. Historically, we have taken principles of human hearing to inspire the design of microphones. However, when trying to miniaturize microphones into extremely small form factors, such as those found in our consumer devices, why not take a look at how the small auditory systems in nature work? Insects, in particular, are very small yet have evolved to sense where sound comes from with incredible accuracy. And they do so using different principles than the human ear. This was the concept that started Professor Miles down the path of building a directional microphone that could both be very small and very sensitive, and eventually led to research into one of the world’s tiniest creatures: the spider.

As a professor at Binghamton University, Ron Miles was introduced to Professor Ron Hoy, a researcher at Cornell University. Professor Hoy had found that even though spiders don’t have traditional ears, they were able to sense sound through the hairs on their legs and even their spider webs. Intrigued by these tiny sensing mechanisms that seemed to move very well with the surrounding motion of air, Professor Miles along with PhD student Jian Zhou studied the acoustic properties of spider silk. It turns out that rather than responding to the sound pressure like the much larger human ear, these “sensors” responded directly to the motion and flow of air around them. This was the concept that inspired Ron and Jian to create directional microphone designs with incredible performance.

Soundskrit Is Born

Soundskrit was founded at the startup incubator TandemLaunch bringing together a love for audio and new technology. The three initial founders connected with Professor Ron Miles of Binghamton University and were introduced to a new perspective on MEMS microphones, one grounded in over 30 years of research. Rather than use arrays of non-directional microphones to try and get directionality, why not build the directionality into the hardware itself? These new MEMS microphones were inspired by the spider, which utilized its hairs and webs to hear. In fact, the very first prototype microphone actually used a spider web as the sensing diaphragm!

Our technology and company have moved well beyond those early days, though our love for taking inspiration from nature still persists. Today, Soundskrit has significantly miniaturized the first prototype without sacrificing any capabilities to create the highest performance MEMS directional microphone on the market. But while the Soundskrit microphone has shrunk, the team has grown, with offices in both Canada and the United States and a multitude of team members from diverse backgrounds. Our team works tirelessly to create the best MEMS microphone in the industry and change the way audio is captured in our everyday devices. We are so excited to share our progress with you.